Winter break: Shanghai eats and more!

Winter break: Shanghai eats and more!

WADDUP SHANGHAI!

Over winter break, I visited Shanghai, a city I haven’t been to in almost ten years. Deciding to go there was actually kind of a last minute decision, but I figured, why not? I’ll be in Hong Kong for three entire weeks and I have a lot of free time. Selina and Karin, my two friends from Shanghai, were like, NAT COME COME COME IT’S GOING TO BE FUN. So voilà, I got my ass to Shanghai.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Handmade candies in 田子坊
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
田子坊

Shanghai is a beautiful hybrid of a city that is both old and contemporary. I love the aged, worn buildings that were modernized and renovated, without losing the nostlagia and flair from the old days. In some ways, Shanghai is almost like Hong Kong – metropolitan, vibrant, and busy – but Shanghai has a more historical taste to it, a hint of old China etched in the stone walls that line the streets, the anonymous red wooden doors, that marked the long-gone decades of Shanghai.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
巨鹿路
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
巨鹿路

This is more of a photos post, a glimpse of what I ate and some of the places I’ve been to. The best part about this trip was the fact that I was able to meet up with my friends one-on-one, in groups, as well as wander around alone, therefore experiencing Shanghai in very different ways.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Banana cake dessert at Liquid Laundry
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cocktail at Liquid Laundry

Actually, I take that back. The best part about the trip was that I could access Facebook in China – without a VPN. Don’t even ask me why, I guess my SIM card might have been a little sketchy…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Famous Xiaolong bao place in Shanghai
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Xiaolong bao
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Smelly tofu
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I actually don’t know what these are…
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Potstickers
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Douhua (豆花) with soy sauce
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Glutinous rice cakes
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Not your generic American Starbucks
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
城隍廟
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Assorted drinks

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
桂花酒釀丸子 Mini gluitnous rice balls and osthumus in fermented rice wine OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Chinese yogurt milk

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Rêve de Soi cafe
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Tiramisu cake and coffee at Rêve de Soi cafe

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
And, of course, the Bund at night
3 thoughts on “Winter break: Shanghai eats and more!

Leave a Reply

